IWLA Committee & Sub-Committees

The Hon. Ms Justice Catherine McGuinnessPresident: The Hon. Ms Justice Catherine McGuinness.

Aoife McNickle PictureChairperson: Aoife McNickle, BL Aoife graduated from University College Dublin with a BBLS (Bachelor of Business and Legal Studies) in 2007. She was called to the Irish Bar in 2008 and commenced practice at the Bar in 2009. Aoife practices primarily in Criminal Law and specialises in the area of Juvenile Justice. Aoife is also a member of teaching staff at both The Honorable Society of King's Inns and The Law Society. She is a native Irish speaker and teaches legal practice through Irish. She also has a particular interest in Corporate and White Collar Crime, and Restorative Justice/Practices. Aoife has served on the IWLA committee since 2013.

Maura ButlerMaura Butler, Solicitor BA (Legal Science); LL.B; MSc IT in Education, Dip. Applied European Law, Criminological Studies, Trail Advocacy. Maura holds the following qualifications: B.A. (Legal Science), LL.B, Diploma in Applied European Law, Postgraduate Diploma in Criminological Studies, Diploma in Teaching Trial Advocacy Skills and MSc IT in Education. Having worked in as a criminal defence advocate and academic, Maura has worked since 1999 as a Course Manager in the Education Department, Law Society of Ireland, delivering Trainee Solicitor training in Criminal Litigation, Criminal Advocacy and Legal Practice Irish. Current voluntary organisational and Board membership includes: IWLA (Chairperson 2012-2015); Association for Criminal Justice Research and Development (Chairperson) and Burren Law School. Former Board roles were held in National Women’s Council of Ireland (NWCI) (former Chairperson), European Women Lawyers Association and European Women’s Lobby.

Jane MurphyVice-Chair: Jane Murphy BL. Jane graduated from the University of Limerick in 2008 with a LL.B. in Law and European Studies. In 2009 she was awarded a LL.M. from University College Cork. She qualified as a barrister from the Honorable Society of King's Inns in 2011 and is currently practicing at the bar, mainly in the area of criminal law. Jane has previously worked as a project manager in the Law Reform Commission and as senior judicial researcher in the Courts Service. Jane has served on the IWLA committee since 2010 and is vice-chairperson of the association at present. She also sits on the IWLA events and networking sub-committee.

Sile LarkinSíle Larkin BA. LLM. Dip EU Law. Síle is a Solicitor and is a graduate of University College, Cork and Trinity College, Dublin. She has been the Legal Advisor to the Director of the Equality Tribunal since 2006. She is also a qualified mediator. Síle was previously a Solicitor in the Equality Authority. Prior to that she worked mainly in the area of family and childcare law. She is on the Steering Committee of the Irish Women Lawyers Association since 2006 and is the Irish representative on the Board of the European Women Lawyers Association.

Irene Lynch-Fannon BioIrene Lynch-Fannon: Irene is a graduate of University College Dublin (BCL, 1982); Oxford University (BCL, 1986, Senior Scholar, Somerville College) and the University of Virginia (Doctor of Juridical Science, 1999). She qualified as a Solicitor in 1985. She has published extensively in Irish and EU Corporate Insolvency Law and is the author of Corporate Insolvency and Rescue (Second Edition) (Bloomsbury Professional, 2012). She has also published in Corporate Governance Working Within Two Kinds of Capitalism (Hart Publications, 2003) and Employment Law. She has been a Professor in the School of Law at University College Cork since 2002. She was Dean of Law and Head of Department between 1999 - 2002 and Head of the College of Business and Law at University College Cork between 2008 -2013. She is a member of the Society of Legal Scholars, INSOL Europe and the UK Insolvency Lawyers Association.

Secretary: Aoife McNicholl: Aoife graduated from Ulster University in 2012 with a L.L.B. Hons Law & Politics. Following graduation, she volunteered with the Committee on the Administration of Justice in Northern Ireland before beginning employment in Sheehan & Partners Solicitors in November 2012. Aoife is currently a trainee solicitor with Sheehan & Partners, working primarily in the areas of Criminal Defence, Judicial Review and Prisoner Litigation. Aoife joined the IWLA Committee in 2015.

Fiona McNulty: Fiona graduated from Trinity College Dublin in 2011 with a degree in Law. Following graduation, Fiona was awarded the FLAC Thomas Addis Emmet Fellowship 2011.Fiona is a trainee solicitor at KOD Lyons Solicitors, and has worked in a number of areas, including the Judicial Review, Civil Litigation and Criminal Trials departments. Fiona has recently successfully completed the Law Society of Ireland’s Professional Practice Course I and The Honorable Society of King’s Inns’ Higher Diploma in Corporate, White Collar and Regulatory Crime. She joined the IWLA Committee in 2015.

Maeve Delargy: Maeve graduated from UCD in 2009 with a BCL (European) degree having spent a year studying law in Paris. She is now training to be a solicitor in Arthur Cox and is due to qualify in January 2017. She represented Ireland at the International Client Consultation Competition in Lincoln, Nebraska and was a finalist in the Internal Moot Court Competition at Blackhall Place. During PPC1 she also participated in the Street Law Programme. Maeve joined the IWLA Committee in 2015.

Jane McGowan BL: 

Cathy Smith Bio PictureCathy Smith BL: Cathy was called to the Bar of Ireland in 1997. She has practised as a barrister for 13 years and has extensive experience in employment, equality and disability law, at both Irish and European level. Cathy also has extensive corporate experience and prior to practising at the Bar, she held in-house legal roles for IDA Ireland, Smurfit Kappa and BDO in Dublin and Dresdner Bank, New York. Cathy has contributed to media discussion on issues of equality and regularly presents at conferences on this topic and on employment and corporate law. Cathy also provides pro-bono assistance to FLAC on equality and disability issues and in particular intellectual disability. Cathy is a graduate of the University of Limerick and the Kings Inns. 


Fiona McNulty


Aoife McNickle


Aoife McNickle, Sile Larkin, Maura Butler, 


Maeve Delargy

2016/2017 IWLA Committee

President: The Hon. Ms Justice Catherine McGuinness . Chairperson: Aoife McNickle, BL.  Aoife graduated from University College Dublin with a BBLS (Bachelor of Business and Legal Studies)  in 2007. She was called to the Irish Bar in 2008 and commenced practice at the Bar in 2009. Aoife practices primarily in Criminal Law and specialises in… Read more